Return of Fantasma from Cornelius!

Japanese recording artist and producer, Cornelius returned to The Orpheum Theater in Los Angeles on August 6th, Saturday night.  People began lining up as early as 7:30PM to re-live this moment of Fantasma.  Fantasma was released in 1997 and is the third album of Cornelius which features 13 tracks in world that combines Alternative Rock, Electronica, and Indie elements.  Born Keigo Oyamada, he performed previously in the band, Flipper’s Guitar and later invented this alter-ego, Cornelius, named after his favorite movie Planet of the Apes.

We opened up with an opening DJ set done by Nosaj Thing.  A recording artist/producer himself, Nosaj Thing took the stage at 9:00 o’ clock sharp and began with sounds of a ghostly voice mixed with basic 4 step Hip Hop beat.  Nosaj Thing, having produced tracks for artists such as Kid Cudi, Kendrick Lamar, and Chance the Rapper, had a very similar sound to the late great Hip Hop producer, J Dilla.  Although Nosaj Thing also incorporated many elements of Alternative Rock, his mixes were deeply routed in elements of Hip Hop.

9:30PM has passed and here it begins, Fantasma.  Being introduced to the world of Cornelius involved visuals that synced perfectly with the sounds that were performed.  Very interesting sounds that I had never heard of other than in another Electronica producer, Flying Lotus.  Cornelius performed sounds that combined elements of nature such as water droplets with Beastie Boy-like Rock, and a synthesizer.  The music of Cornelius can be best described as a “journey of sound.”  During the show, you heard cheers and screams from loyal fans and it  even featured a surprise performance with Beck!

FantasmaListen to Fantasma!

Set List

  1. Mic Check
  2. The Micro Disneycal World Tour
  3. New Music Machine
  4. Clash
  5. Count Five or Six
  6. Drop
  7. I Hate Hate
  8. Point of View Point
  9. Beep It
  10. Smoke
  11. Free Fall
  12. Drop
  13. Wataridori
  14. Breezin’
  15. Chapter 8: Seashore and Horizon
  16. Star Fruits Surf Rider
  17. Monkey


  1. Fit Song
  2. Brand New Season/Love Me tender (with Beck)


Like it? Share with your friends!


Comment down below!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.